2015 Annual General Meeting

The Annual General Meeting will be hosted by the University of Saskatchewan. Nov 13 – 14, 2015.

This is a very important meeting for the neutron beam community for discussion of both science and policy, especially in the light of the expected closure the NRU reactor in 2018. We would like to encourage all CINS members to attend (along with graduate students and post-doctoral fellows).

Key note speakers include:

  • Rob Lamb (Canadian Light Source)
  • Chris Heysel (McMaster)
  • Jens Dilling (TRIUMF)

Please book your travel arrangements and accommodations immediately (see recommendations below).


Registration is free. Please email Chris Wiebe (ch.wiebe@uwinnipeg.ca) to confirm your attendance.

Travel Support

Student travel support is available for students presenting during the poster session for institutional members ($300 per student maximum). Please contact Niki Schrie for details (Nicole.Schrie@nrc-­cnrc.gc.ca).

Venue and Parking

Room 1024 Education Building
28 Campus Drive
University of Saskatchewan
Saskatoon SK

The Poster session, meals and breaks will be held in Lounge 1005.

There is a pay parking lot that is right beside the building, located off Innovation Blvd. Pay on exit, fully automated, unstaffed lot. Must exit daily. $5.00 (per exit) daily maximum. Accepts major credit cards.

Find the Venue and Parking on the U of S campus Map


Organizing Committee

Chris Wiebe, President of CINS and Professor of Chemistry, University of Winnipeg
Dean Chapman, University of Saskatchewan


Friday, Nov. 13, 2015
Location: Classroom 1024 (Education building)

1:00 pm registration opens

4:00 – 4:30 p.m. Opening Remarks (Local organization committee, and CINS)

4:30 – 6:30 p.m. Discussion: “Fostering neutron scattering in Canada after the NRU closes in 2018” (Neil Alexander, Fedoruk Centre)

  • Do we need a Virtual Institute for Neutron Scattering? (concept paper by Daniel Banks, CNBC)
  • Do we need specific characteristics of alternative neutron beam facilities?

6:30 – 7:30 p.m. Speaker: Jens Dilling, TRIUMF

7:30 – 8:00 p.m. Wine and cheese reception (Lounge 1005)

Saturday, Nov. 14, 2015
Location: Classroom 1024 (Education building)

8:30 – 8:50 a.m. Welcome (Local organization committee, and University of Saskatchewan)

8:50 – 9:20 a.m. Update on AECL Restructuring and the Canadian Neutron Beam Centre (John Root, Director CNBC)

9:20 – 10:00 a.m. Status of neutron scattering in Canada as seen by the President of CINS

10:00 – 10:45 a.m. Report by the Committee on Options for a Future Neutron Source (Zin Tun, Chair)

10:45 – 11:00 a.m. Coffee break (Lounge 1005)

11:00 – 12:00 p.m. Speaker: Chris Heysel, McMaster University

12:00 – 1:00 p.m. Lunch break

  • CINS Board Meeting (closed session)

1:00 – 2:00 p.m. Speaker: Rob Lamb, CLS

2:00 – 3:00 p.m. Discussion: “Now to 2020” (CINS President)

3:00 – 3:45 p.m. Discussion: “Beyond the Neutron Gap” (CINS President)

3:45 – 4:00 p.m. Coffee break (Lounge 1005)

4:00 – 5:30 p.m. CINS Business – Reports, election of Science Council, and all other business.


Ogle Hall (CLS Guest Residence)


3 Types of Rooms available:

  • Team Room: 3 queen beds, 1 hide-a-bed, Private washroom ($175/night)
  • 1 queen bed or 2 twin beds, Private washroom ($100/night)
  • Single room, 1 twin bed, Shared/ Private washroom ($65/night)

The Park Town Hotel


Delta Bessborough