2010 Annual General Meeting

The Canadian Institute for Neutron Scattering (CINS) is pleased to announce that this year’s Annual General Meeting will be held in Saskatoon, SK and will be co-hosted by the University of Saskatchewan and the Canadian Light Source with the support of the government of Saskatchewan.

The meeting is Oct. 15- 17, 2010 and will include prominent speakers and a tour of the Canadian Light Source. The title of this year’s meeting is “The Future of Neutron Scattering in Canada” and a major goal will be to raise the public profile of neutron scattering and discuss the business case for a new neutron source for Canada. In addition the local hosts and their partners will highlight to the CINS community the capability and enthusiasm of Saskatoon as a potential site for a new neutron source. CINS members are strongly encouraged to attend this exciting meeting and contribute to a scientific poster session showcasing their diverse interests and accomplishments.

Please book your accommodation by September 24th.


Registration is free. Please email Carl Adams (cadams@stfx.ca) to confirm your attendance.

Travel Support

Some funds are available for travel support. Please contact Carl Adams (cadams@stfx.ca) for details.

Poster Session

To support the objectives of this meeting, please bring a research poster exhibiting research for which neutron beams have been helpful.

Co-Chairs of the Organizing Committee:
Dr. Dominic Ryan, President of CINS and Professor of Physics, McGill University
Dr. Richard Florizone, Vice-President (Finance & Resources) University of Saskatchewan

(updated Sept 23, 2010)

Friday, Oct. 15, 2010
3:00 p.m. Optional Tour of Canadian Light Source (To register, please contact janice.shaw@lightsource.ca )

Conference Opening Session
Location: MacPherson Leslie & Tyerman LLP Lecture Theatre
Room 150, College of Law, U of S campus
4:30 p.m. Welcoming Remarks

  1. Co-Chairs:
    Dr. Richard Florizone, Vice-President (Finance and Resourses), University of Saskatchewan)
    Dr. Dominic Ryan, President of the Canadian Institute for Neutron Scattering, Centre for the Physics of Materials and the Department of Physics, McGill University)
  2. Municipal, provincial, and federal dignitaries

4:45 p.m Keynote Address Seeing is Believing: Why Canada needs a Neutron Source – Dr. Dean Chapman, Canada Research Chair in X-Ray Imaging, University of Saskatchewan.

Neutron beam imaging can see the intricate dance of proteins inside a human body or peer inside an engine while it is running. It offers an unparalleled tool for understanding and innovation, from basic science to medicine and industry. Professor Chapman will share his insights on the relative strengths of synchrotron and neutron beam imaging, and why it makes sense for both these sister technologies to be located in Saskatoon.

5:30 p.m. Reception (Law Student Lounge, adjacent to lecture theatre)
6:30 p.m. Reception ends

Evening Business and Supper
Location: Radisson Hotel Saskatoon
7:00 p.m. Official Opening and Introductions
7:15 p.m. Supper
8:15 p.m. Discussion of Mission for Meeting (led by Dr. Dominic Ryan)
8:30 p.m. End of Program Day 1

Saturday, Oct. 16, 2010
Location: Radisson Hotel Saskatoon
8:30 a.m. Program Reopens/ Poster Setup
9:00 a.m. Summary of Canadian Neutron Beam Centre and CINS Activities (Dr. John Root, Director CNBC)
9:30 a.m. Invited Speaker (Dr. John Katsaras, Senior Scientist / Distinguished R&D Staff Oak Ridge National Laboratory)
10:20 a.m. Coffee Break and Poster Session
11:20 a.m. Invited Speaker (Dr. Danial Wayner, Vice-President of NRC Physical Sciences)
12:10 p.m. Lunch – All meeting attendees (CINS Trustees Lunch Meeting in Parallel)
1:10 p.m. CINS Business

  • President’s Report (Dr. Dominic Ryan)
  • Options and Alternatives for Canadian Neutron Beam Researchers (Dr. Zahra Yamani, Canadian Neutron Beam Centre)
  • Response to expert panel convened at the American Conference on Neutron Scattering 2010
  • Procedures for student/post doc travel reimbursement
  • Elections
  • Any other business

2:30 p.m. Invited Speaker (Dr. Adi Paterson, Chief Executive Officer, Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organization)
3:20 p.m. Coffee Break
3:40 p.m. Discussion of Next Steps and Plan for Sunday
4:20 p.m. Remaining CINS Business
4:30 p.m. Break (NSERC Major Resources Support Oversight Committee Meeting in parallel for Committee members)
6:00 p.m. Banquet
6:45 p.m. Presentation of Best Student Poster Awards

Sunday, Oct. 17, 2010
Location: Radisson Hotel Saskatoon
9:00 a.m. Group discussion and work on draft statement document and action plan
12:00 p.m. Meeting ends


Delta Bessborough

Rooms are reserved at the Delta Bessborough. Prices are between $135 and $165 (includes parking). Reservations for these rooms can be made by calling either 1-800-268-1133 or locally 244-5521, callers must mention the name CINS AGM 2010 to receive the appropriate rate. The reservation deadline is September 24th.

Lutheran Seminary

A few rooms for students at the Lutheran Seminary are reserved at $45/night. Download the form included at this link to make reservations, please include in your correspondence “CINS Meeting” in order to access this room block.